



## **The Johannes Linneborn Prize Award**

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 22nd European Biomass Conference and Exhibition - Setting the course for a biobased economy, Hamburg, Germany, 23 - 26 June 2014. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport and agriculture.

The 2014 Prize Winner is

## Yuan Zhenhong

## Guangzhou Institute of Energy Conversion

Prof. Yuan Zhenhong, Director of Laboratory of Biochemical Conversion and Chief Scientist of the Research Center of Biomass Energy, Guangzhou Institute of Energy Conversion (GIEC) of CAS is the first winner from China. He is the founder and pioneer of the biomass energy in China with a large and broad contribution to science and technology of the biomass and to the international organizations of this field.

Clemens Hoffmann Conference General Chairman David Baxter Technical Programme Chairman Wim van Swaaij Chairman Linneborn Prize Committee Angela Grassi Conference Organiser

Hamburg, 23 June 2014

Peter Helm Conference Organiser

