

## The Johannes Linneborn Prize Award

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 23rd European Biomass Conference and Exhibition - Setting the course for a biobased economy, Vienna, Austria, 01 - 04 June 2015. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport and agriculture.

The 2015 Prize Winner is

## Prof. Dr. Andrè Faaij

Academic Director of the Energy Academy Europe

and Distinguished Professor of Energy System Analysis, Groningen University, The Netherlands

The prize is awarded to Prof. Dr. Andrè Faaij for his outstanding contribution and leadership for over 23 years in the research and promotion of the large scale deployment of sustainable biomass for energy and products. He is an excellent scientist, teacher and a highly valued advisor for governments, international agencies and organizations as well as the bio-industry. He has participated in a wide range of international studies where he has often taken the lead.

Ingwald Obernberger
Conference General Chairman

David Baxter
Technical Programme Chairman

Wim van Swaaij Chairman Linneborn Prize Committee Angela Grassi Conference Organiser Peter Helm *Conference Organiser* 



