



The Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 17th European Biomass Conference and Exhibition - From Research to Industry and Markets, Hamburg, Germany, 29 June to 3 July 2009. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from Biomass. Johannes Linneborn, lived from 1899 to 1991 and was a pioneer in modern Biomass utilisation. In his professional life of almost 70 years, his interests covered a wide range of activities from agriculture, energy and transport to health and nutrition. His credo was the necessity to integrate all human activities into the natural cycle of life.

The 2009 Prize Winner is

Prof. Bryan M. Jenkins

University of California (Davis) – United States of America

Distinguished as a Professor of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, Professor Jenkins has been in the field of Biomass for 30 years, during which he has produced more than 130 papers, with additional textbook contributions and prominent reports, which have contributed further to the credibility of the California Biomass Collaborative. This Institute, founded and directed by Prof. Jenkins, provides a strong base for the collaboration of academia, companies, environmental organisations and the government, in order to analyse, plan and co-operate towards a better and more sustainable future.

The professional background of Prof. Jenkins includes the functions of Senior Resource Engineer for the Pacific Gas and Electric Company, as an Affiliate Researcher for the California Senate Office of Research and is currently the Director of the University of California Davis Energy Institute.

The 17th European Biomass Conference is delighted to honour such an eminent personality in Biomass and Bioenergy development who has vitally assisted educational institutions and provided leadership worldwide, especially in the Philippines and South East Asia.

Angela Grassi *Conference Co-Organiser*

Giovanni F. De Santi Conference General Chairman

Wim van Swaaij Chairman of the Linneborn Prize Committee



