



Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

It is being awarded on the occasion of the 16th European Biomass Conference & Exhibition, From Research to Industry and Markets in Valencia, Spain, 2-6 June 2008. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass. Johannes Linneborn, who lived 1899-1991, was a pioneer in modern biomass utilization. In his professional life of almost 70 years, his interest covered a wide range of activities from agriculture, energy and transport to health and nutrition. His credo was the necessity to integrate all human activities in the natural cycle of life.

The 2008 Prize Winner is

Dr. José Roberto Moreira

CENBIO - Brazilian Reference Center on Biomass

For the last 30 years, Dr. Roberto Moreira has had a very intensive, highly-professional life, predominantly in the energy sector of Brazil with a focus on bioenergy. He has been a key figure in the promotion and development of specific bioenergy markets, particularly of bio-electricity and biofuels in Brazil. He has contributed to the elaboration of strategy documents for the Brazilian Government and the United Nations. Dr. Moreira served as Under-Secretary of Energy for the Federal Ministry of Mines and Energy. He also served as Vice-President of the Companhia Energética of São Paulo. He was co-founder of Brazil's National Electricity Conservation Programme (PROCEL) and of Brazil's Petroleum Conservation Programme (CONPET) and founding Member of the National Institute for Energy Efficiency (INEE). He participates as an active speaker in the most important conferences worldwide on greenhouse gas emissions and climate change. He is the author of more than 200 papers on the subjects of physics, energy and environment. Currently Dr. Moreira serves as a Senior Technical Expert to MGM International. He is also the Chairman of the Board for the Brazilian Biomass Reference Centre (CENBIO); Technical Director of Negawatt Ltd.; Professor of Energy at the Mauà Institute of Technology; and Professor of both Physics and Energy at the University of São Paulo. The conference is pleased to honour an eminent figure in biomass and bioenergy development that has provided leadership worldwide. Dr. Moreira joined the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (UN-IPCC) as lead author and convening lead author since 1994 and was one of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize laureate by his scientific work.

> Angela Grassi **Executive Committee**

Jürgen Schmid General Conference Chairman

Wolfgang Palz Prize Committee Chairman





Peter Helm Executive Committee