Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

It is being awarded on the occasion of the 2nd World Conference and Technology Exhibition on Biomass for Energy, Industry and Climate Protection in Rome, Italy, 10-14 May 2004. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass.

Johannes Linneborn, who lived 1899-1991, was a pioneer in modern biomass utilization. In his professional life of almost 70 years, his interest covered a wide range of activities from agriculture, energy and transport to health and nutrition. His credo was the necessity to integrate all human activities in the natural cycle of life.

The 2004 Prize Winner is

Prof. Spyros Kyritsis

President of the Greek Academy of Agriculture

Prof. Kyritsis is a key personality of Europe's Biomass community. His pioneering scientific work, in particular for fluid bed gasification and flash pyrolysis, is recorded in more than 160 publications and books. He is not only a leader for science and technology in his own country where he was the founding DG of the national Centre for Renewable Energies and a Rector of the Agricultural University of Athens, but he held and holds leading positions in international programmes of the European Union, the UN's European Commission for Agriculture, the FAO and UNESCO.

We congratulate the man and the scientist for his outstanding life achievements.

Wim P. M. van Swaaij Conference Chairman

Wolfgang Palz **Conference Director**

Tord Fjällström Programme Chairman

Angela Grassi Executive Committee

Peter Helm **Executive Committee**

Giuliano Grassi Prize Committee Chairman