

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 18th European Biomass Conference and Exhibition - From Research to Industry and Markets, Lyon, France, 3 - 7 May 2010. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass. Johannes Linneborn lived from 1899 to 1991 and was a pioneer in modern biomass utilisation. In his professional life of almost 70 years, his interests covered a wide range of activities from agriculture, energy and transport to health and nutrition. His *credo* was the necessity to integrate all human activities into the natural cycle of life.

The 2010 Prize Winner is

## Kyriakos Maniatis

## Principal Administrator, Directorate General for Energy, European Commission

The prize is awarded him for his leadership in promoting biomass as a sustainable energy source within the European Union and worldwide for more than 20 years.

Kyriakos Maniatis graduated with a BSc from University College London (1977) and a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Aston in Birmingham (1987). He has managed in an excellent way the bioenergy demonstration part of the EC Framework Programmes over the last 20 years and responsible for all technical issues related to 1st and 2nd generation biofuels at DG ENER and for the DG ENER demonstration component of the sectors of biofuels and polygeneration in the Commission's the 7th Framework Programme. Moreover he contributes a lot to the legislative actions of the EC.

He also initiated the CEN standardisation work for solid biomass fuels, solid recovered fuels, bioethanol, biodiesel and biomethane. He successfully led the EU team to the tripartite work on International Compatible Biofuels Standards with the US and Brazil, who issued the White Paper on this subject in 2008. He represents the European Commission in the Executive Committee of the International Energy Agency Bioenergy Implementing Agreement for the last 15 years and served as a highly appreciated ExCo Chairman in 2002, 2005, 2006 and 2007.

Kyriakos Maniatis is often invited, worldwide, as an authoritative speaker with clear vision and a fine eye for excellence in work of others. He takes all his jobs very seriously while adding a lot of personal charm.

Josef Spitzer Conference General Chairman Wim Van Swaaij Chairman of the Linneborn Prize Committee Angela Grassi
Conference Co-Organiser

Peter Helm *Conference Co-Organiser* 

