## **Johannes Linneborn Prize**

for Achievements in Biomass Development

It is being awarded on the occasion of the 14<sup>th</sup> European Biomass Conference & Exhibition, Biomass for Energy, Industry and Climate Protection in Paris, France, 17-21 October 2005. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass.

Johannes Linneborn, who lived 1899-1991, was a pioneer in modern biomass utilization. In his professional life of almost 70 years, his interest covered a wide range of activities from agriculture, energy and transport to health and nutrition. His credo was the necessity to integrate all human activities in the natural cycle of life.

The 2005 Prize Winner is

## Ph.D. Wolfgang Palz

World Council for Renewable Energy

Ph.D. Palz is a key personality of Europe's Biomass community. He became in 1977 responsible for the Renewable Energy portfolio of the EU Commission's R&D programmes. He initiated the European Biomass Conferences with a first in Brighton, UK, in 1980. He was proactive with his collegue Giuliano Grassi to promote an EU Biofuels Strategy within the EU Agricultural Policy PAC since the mid 1980s. He initiated in 1997 that Bioenergy was given top priority in the EU Commission's White Paper on Renewable Energies". This Prize is awarded in recognition for his continuous support for Biomass.

We congratulate the man and the scientist for his outstanding life achievements.

Angela Grassi Executive Committee Juan Carrasco Technical Programme Chairman Lars Sjunnesson General Conference Chairman Giuliano Grassi Prize Committee Chairman Peter Helm Executive Committee