

The Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 27th European Biomass Conference and Exhibition, Lisbon, Portugal, 27 - 30 May 2019. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport and agriculture.

The 2019 Prize Winner is

David Baxter

former European Commission, Joint Research Centre

The prize is awarded to him for his consisted excellence for over 25 years in applied research, management of implementation and political policies supporting studies- in the area of renewable and sustainable energy production from biomass and waste. His work shows remarkable results in the wide area of R&D related to thermochemical and biological conversion processes of biomass and waste. He provided inspiring and effective leadership in international co-operation projects and programs in these areas.

Mda Graça Carvalho

Maria da Graça Carvalho Conference General Chair Wim van Swaaij

Chairman Linneborn Prize Committee

Nicolae Scarlat

Technical Programme Chairman

Bearlet

Angela Grassi
Conference Organiser

Conference Organiser

Lisbon, 27 May 2019



