

The Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 29th European Biomass Conference and Exhibition, 26 - 29 April 2021 online. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport, and agriculture.

The 2021 Prize Winner is

Dr. Juan E. Carrasco Garcia

Head of the Biomass Division, CEDER- CIEMAT Centre for Development of Renewable Energies Madrid, Spain

The prize is awarded to dr. Juan Carrasco for his consistent excellence for over 35 years in research and management of the development of renewable and sustainable energy from biomass. He realized lasting results of high significance along the entire biomass energy chain: potential identification, development of production of biomass, drying, size reduction, storage, conversion to modern liquid, gaseous and solid energy carriers and their application in furnaces and boilers. Moreover we appreciate his promotion of bioenergy, teaching of the concepts and elucidating its potential to users and public at large. He provided inspiring and effective contributions and leadership in large national and international co-operation projects and programs in these areas.

Nicolae Scarlat
Technical Programme Chair

Wim van Swaaij Chair Linneborn Prize Committee

Angela Grassi
Conference Organiser

Heinz Ossenbrink

Conference Support