



for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 30th European Biomass Conference and Exhibition, 9 - 12 May 2022 online. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport, and agriculture.

The 2022 Prize Winner is

Dr. Ingwald Obernberger

Prof. Univ. -Doz. Dipl.- Ing. Dr. Ingwald Obernberger
University of Graz Austria
and Director of BIOS BIOENERGYSYSTEME GmbH Graz Austria

The prize is awarded to Ingwald Obernberger for his consistent excellence for over 30 years in pioneering research, development and management of implementation and promotion of bioenergy via modern and environmentally safe thermochemical conversion processes: combustion, gasification and pyrolysis. An important focus was among others on fundamental studies, development and innovations of close-to-zero emission biomass combustion on different scales.

Nicolae Scarlat

European Commission, JRC, Directorate for

Energy, Transport and Climate,

Bearlat

EUBCE Technical Programme Chair

Wim van Swaaij
University of Twente, The Netherlands

Chair Linneborn Prize Committee

Angela Grassi
EUBCE Organiser and
ExCo Committee Chair

