

The Johannes Linneborn Prize

for Achievements in Biomass Development

This accomplishment is being awarded on the occasion of the 31st European Biomass Conference and Exhibition, 5-8 June 2023 in Bologna. The Johannes Linneborn Prize was established in 1994 to honour scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of energy from biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport, and agriculture.

The 2023 Prize Winner is

Professor dr. Suani T. Coelho

Institute of Energy and Environment University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

The prize is awarded to Professor Coelho for her consisted excellence for over 25 years in studies of sustainable energy processes including biological, chemical and thermochemical conversion processes of biomass, biomass waste and municipal solid waste. Moreover she was active in the area of implementation and energy policies research and national and international overview studies on renewable and sustainable energy production from biomass and waste. Specially her work on different generations of sugar cane conversion to ethanol and the (co)production of other energy carriers such as bio-methane, bio-diesel charcoal, hydrogen, syngas etc. were highly significant both for Brazil and worldwide. She showed a deep understanding of and clear visions on the potential but equally on the environmental impact and limits of bioenergy. She used her competence and knowledge to the benefit of São Paulo, Brazil and worldwide including important attention for developing countries.

Isabella De Bari
Head of ENEA Laboratory for the
processes and technologies for
biorefineries and green chemistry
EUBCE General Chair

Nicolae Scarlat

European Commission, JRC, Directorate for
Energy, Transport and Climate

EUBCE Technical Programme Chair

Wim van Swaaij
University of Twente, The Netherlands
Chair Linneborn Prize Committee

Angela Grassi

EUBCE Organiser

ExCo Chair

