About the Linneborn Prize

The Prize was established in 1994 by European Commission  for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass and is awarded every year to an individual for outstanding merits in biomass.

The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world’s development, on health, transport and agriculture.

The prize is awarded every year at EUBCE (European Biomass Conference & Exhibition) to honor scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of biomass, to a single european individual (but occasionally to a non-european) for the long period of continuos achievements.

The Linneborn Prize Committee selects the individual to be honoured with the prize. The committee is formed by: (a) all the past awardees, (b) the Chairperson of EUBCE, (c) one representative of the European Commission, (d) the organiser of EUBCE.



The Chairman of the Linneborn Committee is Prof. Wim van Swaaij, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands

Should you need additional information, please don't hesitate to contact Mrs. Angela Grassi angela.grassi@etaflorence.it