Congratulations to the Linneborn Prize Winner 2019


David Baxter

Former European Commission,

Joint Research Centre

Dr. Baxter receives the Linneborn Prize 2019 as highly appreciated and recognized R&D scientist originally specialized and active in materials technology applied to clean fossil fuel (combustion, gasification and advanced turbine development), both at the Argonne National Laboratory in the USA and industry in the UK. Later, after joining Joint Research Center of the European Commission, his attention shifted to the application of advanced ceramics and heat protection systems in energy technologies, including key activities in the framework of European COST projects. During the 1990s he shifted attention to non-fossil fuels including biomass and waste and their conversion to energy. Part of this work involved setting up a large successful European waste incineration network of industry operators and researchers focused on energy efficiency and emissions reduction. Based on this broad experience and personal qualities from 2000 on, applied research evolved into supporting research for political policy in the EU. As a member of the European Bioenergy Industrial Initiative he did important work within the Strategic Energy Technologies (SET) Plan and closely supported tasks to implement new legislation, for example the renewables directive and directives related to waste. He was also a highly successful leader of the International Energy Agency Biogas Task 37, promoting sustainable biogas production from agricultural residues, energy crops and municipal waste, whilst recycling fertilizers and nutrients back to farmland. He supervised a number of post-graduate researchers and worked alongside visiting scientists, mainly from new member countries to the EU, aiming to build and extend research collaboration across the continent. Apart from these examples he made significant contributions to the organization and development of the scientific programme and the implementation of our EUBCE conferences, presenting overviews and summaries, as well as being involved in several other activities showing very effective leadership.


The Chairman of the Linneborn Committee is David Chiaramonti, Polytechnic of Turin, Italy

Should you need additional information, please don't hesitate to contact Mrs. Angela Grassi